Improvised Fix

I recently created a new type of poem.  Inspired by Haiku’s, I came up with a type of poem revolving not around syllables per line, but around a certain number of words per line, with each line representing a different part of the idea that the poem is getting across.  I don’t know if this is actually a new creation but I have never seen it done before.  I have no name for this type of poem.

This is the first one of many that I have created:

Receipt, Broken, Ripped

let’s go to heaven now

glue, paperclip

tongue

improvised fix

The last line could be considered the title with two words.  The first line explains the theme in three words.  The second line is a quote of what someone might say or do in regards to the theme (around 4-8 words).  The third line continues to expand on the theme with two words.  The fourth line uses one major IMPACT word to bring the theme home.

I have more but would like to read yours as well.  Write them in the comments below.  And if you have found other examples of this type of poem let me know.

Write.  If you can’t write, speak.  If you can’t speak, sign.  If you can’t sign, be.  If you can’t be, you’re free.

Leave a comment