Reflections

I am drunk right now
and I was sitting at the beach
and the sand was soft and the sky had streaks of cloud
the sun was setting and the moon looked at me with half its face
I was drunk

I walked to the edge of the water and looked at the ripples
I wanted to take off my clothes and dip my body into the water
my entire body underneath the water
and hold my breath for just a minute
then I would emerge brand new
my sins would be washed away, dripping off of my body

I walked away and through the park to the streets again
the traffic was heavy and it was cold,
and it was now dark
there was nowhere for me to go, well there was a place
that I slept and for sake of a better word I called home,
but in reality there was nowhere for me to go
nowhere I could sit naked and bleed
and still be welcomed

except now in my writings and in my mind and when I was alone,
then I could see all the things that made up what I called me,
and now I look at myself in the mirror and I don’t recognize anything at all

Leave a comment